Two new shrimp and a mighty nest

I really want to post pictures of the new Dwarf Gourami eggs or tiddlers but…nothing has happened yet! Big Boi has primped and plumped his bubblenest, chased all the fish in turn if they get too close and has chased Betty around a lot. I haven’t seen any dancing under the nest or egg-squirting (that should be a technical aquarist term!) I probably won’t get a successful breeding situation as this has all happened by chance. It would be nice though.

Hot shrimp update: I bought two algae-eating shrimp from the same shop I picked up Speckled Jim. There’s plenty of algae to munch on so they should thrive. I’ll do another water change tomorrow but I want to be careful not to disturb the mighty nest.

The first pic shows the lovely Betty, the second Big Boi and his nest (the mound coming out of the water has a halo!) and in third place, the Big Boi squirting water into the air! Woohoo!

20120503-204049.jpg

20120503-204104.jpg

20120503-204130.jpg

20120503-204217.jpg

2 thoughts on “Two new shrimp and a mighty nest

  1. When I had platies they would breed in my aquarium but since I didn’t seperate the fry from the adults not very many would survive. But enough did survive to occasionally trade them in at my LFS for a can of fish food or other necessary item.

  2. My platys seem to be constantly pregnant but I never see signs of fry! I have one male and three females. The females all grew larger bellies very quickly and I can even see dark specs inside which I assumed were their young..but so far nothing. You were lucky to save some.

Leave a Reply

