Bristlenose Rene is Hanging In There

The lovely Rene is still doing ok. I moved him into a small tank on his own yesterday after watching the male dwarf cichlid Mr C dart at him (picture of the offender below) making contact with his body and almost knocking him off his leaf! He did this three times before I had the tank ready. This is the first time I’ve seen this behaviour. Perhaps because the plant attached to rock that Rene was suctioned to is a favourite of Mr and Mrs C. Two shrimp are happily munching on this plant tonight but this does not seem to offend them. Yet…

Rene still has bubble blisters at his tail end but I’m keeping a close eye on him. He is near the heater (with guard cage) in the pics. Come on Rene!

20120527-214129.jpg

20120527-214154.jpg

20120527-214300.jpg

20120527-214325.jpg

20120527-214352.jpg

5 thoughts on “Bristlenose Rene is Hanging In There

    • Mr C is an Apistogramma Borelli Dwarf Cichlid. He is the only male in the tank with one female. The tank is 200Litres (54 US Gallons liquid). I have seen the male and female chase each other and the other fish but not an attack like this. Rene didn’t even move out of the way, I presume because he is ill….

      • In my experience catfish tend to be very stubborn and not move out of the way of much of anything. But I’ve only ever had armored cats, I’m not sure if a BN is armored or not.

    • Hi, thanks so much for your help as always. I’ve had a look at the article and that is some new information to me. The Borelli Cichlids were recommended to me as a beginner… Both male and female cichlids are chasing others around so perhaps they are getting ready to breed again. Hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

