Albino Dwarf African Clawed Frogs

We bought four shibunkins for the outdoor pond today. We were hoping to keep it without fish to give frogs a chance but the mosquito larvae made the decision. Hopefully they are now plump, happy fish.

I just happened to spot a little frog in the tropical fish section so of course came home with two albino dwarf African clawed frogs. One is bravely exploring the tank and the other has very slowly moved around the large plant. If fish swim past it seems to play dead. Big Boi the dwarf gourami male sucked in one the poor frogs feet but soon spat it out again and was promptly scared by the froggy movement.

I have a lid on the aquarium but these frogs can apparently escape from uncovered tanks; there are plenty of anecdotes online about dehydrated frogs found around the house! The LFS recommended blood worms as food and I have frozen cubes of it in the freezer. As the fish are so greedy, I’ll have to ensure the frogs get some food but the fish left a lot of blood worms for me to clear up when I last tried this food. I’ll put some worms in tomorrow and see what happens. Wish me luck!
20120805-204216.jpg20120805-204223.jpg20120805-204230.jpg20120805-204237.jpg

20120805-204304.jpg

20120805-204311.jpg

20120805-204329.jpg

20120805-204349.jpg

20120805-204355.jpg

20120805-204402.jpg

6 thoughts on “Albino Dwarf African Clawed Frogs

  1. I love African Dwarf Frogs! But I didn’t know they came in dwarf varieties. I had only ever heard of African Clawed Frogs and African Dwarf Frogs. But based on the three claws on your frogs back feet it is definitely an ACF. On a related note I had an ACF jump tank once, I found it before it dehydrated but it died the next day.

  2. I hate to tell you this but you bought African clawed frogs. The difference is that the dwarfs have webbing between their front fingers. Yours are going to be a lot bigger than a dwarf & might eat your fish as they grow.

    • Hi, sorry for the extreme delay in my reply! Thanks for the advice. I did take them back to the shop after about a week as I realised my mistake. I haven’t seen the dwarf frogs for sale in all this time though. They were great house guests anyway!

Leave a Reply

