Rene is Here to Stay?

Just a quickie to tell you that Rene the bristlenose catfish is doing well and I hope is here to stay. He has one blister on his side that I can see and overall seems a lot smoother and back to his normal handsome self. He also seems to have eaten an algae wafer a day for two days; previously I was fishing out the uneaten wafers. He also seems to be behaving more normally, moving around more often and being his usual shy self when he is startled.

He is still in his small hospital tank and I’ve been changing 2/3 of the water every day and adding ‘cycle’ drops to the water. I’m so pleased not to have lost him and hope he is 100% soon.

In the community, Big Boi is building his THIRD nest. I’m afraid I destroyed the beginnings of the last one when I gave the tank a thorough cleaning when I first noticed fish illness. He has now forgiven me and trusts me enough not to mess with this one…

20120531-204850.jpg

20120531-204944.jpg

20120531-204957.jpg

20120531-205032.jpg

3 thoughts on “Rene is Here to Stay?

    • Hi, yes I hope all is getting back to normal. I am in London this weekend so will check on the plant name when I get home. I can never remember the names but I kept the labels!

    • Hi, the plant is Hygrophila Difformi (Wisteria), which is supposed to grow rapidly, readily absorb micro-nutrients and is recommended for new aquariums. It is definitely a vigorous grower and has assisted the building of bubble nests!

Leave a Reply

